Fran's WebLog
Monday, 12. August 2002
Genre :Letter to the Editor

A need for Change in School….

Dear Editor:
I am a concerned parent of a child who has a speech disorder and is the focus of constant belittlement and bullying at Redford Elementary School. Everyday when the bus arrives to pick my child up I have to pull him off my arms and send a screaming, upset child to school. My son absolutely hates school. Everyday there is always some story like how no one will play with him, or how they call him all kinds of names-dummy and weird, or tell him that they can’t understand him and they don’t like him. I know that because of the way he is treated from his fellow classmates that he often does not participate in class and is extremely quiet throughout the whole day. He is an intelligent person who just has a problem with his speech. This speech disorder by no means classifies him as mentally disabled and it does not automatically imply that he is stupid and different. People need to realize that my son is just like his fellow classmates. My son may just as well likes to do the same things your children may like to do such as playing sports, cub scouts, video games etc. He never gets the chance to show people what he is really about before they start passing judgment on him. I think the way my son gets treated in class is unacceptable. I think something should be done in class to help the other classmates understand that my child is no different than them. Teachers must start implementing programs in the classroom that will help my son and children like him receive equal treatment by their peers.
I have been thinking lately of all the changes that Redford Elementary school has gone through in the past couple of years. They have incorporated Primary scheduling, they got a new cafeteria, came up with money to build a new playground, and they got tons of new school supplies. This school has really put in a lot of time and effort into improving the quality of the school. However, I think it is now time that Redford now change the social environments of the classrooms by having teachers work in ways in their teaching to help children perceive others as equal.
I truly believe that no one has even given my son the time of day to even see if they like him. It is really depressing and it almost makes me cry every time I think about how my son gets treated. Parents just want what they thinks is best for their children and I really believe that the environmental setting of my son’s education needs to change.

Sincerely,
A concerned Parent
Deborah Hughes

Online for 8012 days
Last modified: 8/15/02, 4:03 PM
Status
Youre not logged in ... Login
Menu
... Home
... Tags

Search
Calendar
May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
August
Recent updates
Genre1: Journal entries from the
teacher Journal Of Emma Collins Wednesday, March 13, 2002: I...
by FranPuig (8/26/02, 5:03 PM)
Genre5: interview Interview of SLP
and teacher: SLP: Hello Mrs. Collins how are you today?...
by FranPuig (8/16/02, 12:38 AM)
Preface The class that I
am taking this summer (June 10-August 16, 2002) is CD...
by FranPuig (8/16/02, 12:06 AM)
Reflection Content: I have never
done a Multi-Genre-Project before and I know that I am...
by FranPuig (8/15/02, 5:48 PM)
Genre 6: Webliography Welcome to
my Webliography! I hope you enjoy! My name is Frances...
by FranPuig (8/15/02, 2:11 PM)
Table of Contents In this
class we were to develop a Multi-Genre-Research Project. This project...
by FranPuig (8/15/02, 3:48 AM)
References
References Bullies: A serious Problem for Kids. National Crime Prevention Council.(n.d.). Retrieved July 30,...
by FranPuig (8/13/02, 4:57 PM)
Week 10: It is all
Over!! Week 10: It’s All over!! I can’t believe tomorrow...
by FranPuig (8/13/02, 4:42 AM)
Author About the Author:
I am a 21 year old senior at Marshall University. I...
by FranPuig (8/12/02, 4:50 PM)
Acknowledgements I have received a
lot of help with my research project. My group members...
by FranPuig (8/12/02, 4:41 PM)
Preface Draft My research question
that I developed for this project is how can SLP’s...
by FranPuig (8/12/02, 4:30 PM)
Genre:Interview Interview of SLP and
teacher: SLP: How is Johnny doing lately? T: Well I...
by FranPuig (8/12/02, 3:52 PM)
Genre :Letter to the Editor
A need for Change in School…. Dear Editor: I am...
by FranPuig (8/12/02, 3:50 PM)
Genre I am Poem
I am normal like everybody else I wonder why people make...
by FranPuig (8/12/02, 3:49 PM)
Week9: Almost Done Week 9
: Almost Done My Goal for this week was to...
by FranPuig (8/9/02, 3:22 AM)
Reflection Content: For the MRP
project I was to develop an essential question and from...
by FranPuig (8/7/02, 1:09 PM)
letter to the editor
Back to Journal Entry Back to table of Contents
by FranPuig (8/7/02, 2:09 AM)

RSS feed

Made with Antville
Helma Object Publisher